At (or Near) Wholesale Prices: Happy Product - Sad Box >
Give Us A Call
615-373-1444

10am - 4pm CST

Thread: Questions regarding the Samurai

Posting Questions from Customers Customer Questions's Avatar

Questions regarding the Samurai

I have assembled and successfully flown the Samurai. I am an experienced RC pilot but new to sailplanes. I also have a Radian and a Radian Pro. I am using Horizonís DX8 model for the Radian Pro and make use of the flaps, camber, reflex, and crow.

I am using Sky 2s 2200 batteries and needed 1.5 ounces of lead in the nose to get it to balance. My AUW is 36.5 ounces.

I flew my Radian Pro at The Lump overlook on the Blue Ridge Parkway but it was so floppy in the slope wind that it wasnít much fun. I got the Samurai for slope soaring there but would also like to be able to thermal soar with it if possible.

Here are my questions:

- I cannot get the ESC brake to work. There is a quick 4-tone sequence when I first plug in the battery comprised of 2 high pitch then 2 low pitch tones. Iíve tried repeatedly to put the throttle at high and then move it to low as soon as the 4 tones finish. However the brake does not engage.

- What should the ballpark flap and elevator deflections be for landing? Do you recommend also using crow? How much up deflection do you recommend for the ailerons?

- What wing configuration(s) do you recommend for thermal soaring? Should I camber the wing with both flap and ailerons? What ballpark deflections for aileron, flap, and elevator would you recommend?

- Is there any use for flaps at mid position? I can see how it would be useful to camber the whole wing but I donít know when I would just use the mid-flap position.

- Is there any reason to use reflex? The Samurai seems so quick and has so much sink in normal configuration that I have a hard time seeing when I would make use of reflex.