At (or Near) Wholesale Prices: Happy Product - Sad Box >
Give Us A Call
615-373-1444

10am - 4pm CST

Thread: SLOW FLIGHT

SLOW FLIGHT

Slow Flight
    I have been flying RC since 1972. Before that I flew control line until one day someone showed up with a single channel RC airplane. Rudder only! That was the end of flying in circles for me.
    I went out and bought a used Heath Kit 4 channel 27 MHz radiofor $225.00 that was a lot of money in 1972. For those of you that are too young to remember, Heath Kit made electronic kits of everything from a color TV to radio control. You had to build everything yourself. You opened the box and it was circuit boards and components.
    My next radio was an 8 channel Heath($425.00) which took a long time to build even though I worked on full sized aircraft radios for a living. It took about 6 hours to build each servo.
    Like every aspiring RC pilot I wanted a to fly a P-51 or something like that but you have to crawl before you can walk or run. I have lost count of the number of people I have taught to fly RC and most are in such a hurry to fly fighters and the like.
    My first RC airplane was a balsa and foam De Havilland Beaver with an Enya .25 engine. I moved up to a Stick and in all these years Ihave flown everything from Sailplanes, Cubs up to fighters to electric ducted fans. I had my chance to fly airplanes that were so fast they were hard to keep up with.
    My fleet now consists of a P-47, Yak 55, Extra 300L Ultimate Biplane and a Rascal 110 all gas powered, a SR. Telemaster, 12 FT Telemaster numerous ducted fans and other various electric powered airplanes.
    I now have my choice to burn holes in the sky or get out one of the Telemasters and just kick back for some extreme SLOW FLIGHT. I have found that many times I have the most enjoyable flying days just lazily cruising the sky in slow flight, doing touch and goes for hours.