At (or Near) Wholesale Prices: Happy Product - Sad Box >
Give Us A Call
615-373-1444

10am - 4pm CST

Thread: Engine question for Senior Telemaster Plus

Engine question for Senior Telemaster Plus

I decided to install the AXI 4130/16 on the Senior Telemaster "Plus". I am new to large electric and did not know how big to go on the batteries. I purchased both a 5Cell and 6Cell/5000mAh/30C battery and did some bench testing with my trusty "Doc Wattson" watt Meter:

5 Cell Data:
    15 X 8 APC prop/ 780.3Watts/ 40.15Amps/ 20.1Volts
    16 X 8 APC prop/ 895.5Watts/ 45.74Amps/ 19.43Volts

6Cell Data:
    15 X 8 APS prop/ 1206.7Watts/ 51.79Amps/ 23.06Volts
    16 X 8 APC prop/ 1401.4Watts/ 60.70Amps/ 22.9Volts

Using the "rule of thumb" of around 75W/lb...895.5Watts (16 X 8 APC prop/5Cell) should be more than adequate for ROG from grass, to climb well, and, to perform mild aerobatics. My question is regarding "run times". Should I expect longer run times with the 5 cell? Both batteries are 5000 mAh and I was thinking that the higher amp draw from the 6 cell would deplete the battery faster. I will only be using max power for T/O and some gentle Acro maneuvers. Some on the forums disagree....but it would seem that the 6 cell is "forcing" the motor to spin faster and draw more amperage from the (constant variable) 5000mAh capacity......confusing! Just asking before I order more Batteries.

Mike

Re: Engine question for Senior Telemaster Plus

Hey Mike,