At (or Near) Wholesale Prices: Happy Product - Sad Box >
Give Us A Call
615-373-1444

10am - 4pm CST

Thread: Senior Telemaster long duration setup for FPV

Senior Telemaster long duration setup for FPV

Hello guys,

I have a senior telemaster i would like to fly for long durations FPV flying. which setup would you recommend ? electric ? nitro ? gasoline ?

Electric is the cleanest for FPV for sure, but i guess it would be hard to get the duration (at least 1 hour) on an electric setup - please express your thoughts.

any well proven long duration electric setups for the Senior telemaster ?

thanks.

Re: Senior Telemaster long duration setup for FPV

Hey, I fly nothing but electric, and electric is not the best for duration flights. The best I can do is 10 minutes, with a 5s 5000MaH. I hope this helps.

I hope to have mine up in the next two weeks. I'll let you know how it goes. I modified the battery area and cockpit area to accept 4 lipos, 4SP1's, 5000 mah's. They are mounted on a sliding battery compartment so I can adjust them to tweak the CG depending on what camera gear is carried in the rear, (might be none at times).

I hope to run a bench test this weekend with just two of the lipo's at half throttle and see what kind of times I get. For practice flying I'll probably fly it with just the 2 lipos and no camera gear. Other times I hope to fly it loaded out with the camera gear, 4 lipo's and eventually some autonomous control and data loggers.

Tiller

Update: I just came in from doing my first bench test with a newly built arf senior. With the two lipos mentioned above, on the bench, I ran for 5 minutes for a shakedown and slowly took it up to half throttle. I checked all the mounts and nuts and bolts and then ran it again for another 18 minutes. Dummy me, (my first plane I'm putting together, second plane), forgot there is no airflow over the motor on the bench. I think the engine shutdown from overheating. At least I know that shutdown works! :oops: