At (or Near) Wholesale Prices: Happy Product - Sad Box >
Give Us A Call
615-373-1444

10am - 4pm CST

Thread: Selecting a lipo charger

Selecting a lipo charger

I am fairly new to flying with lipo multi-celled batteries. I recently purchased the Powerwing 1300mah 3s 20c battery from HL only later to discover that the lipo charger we have will not function with 3c batteries. Which should I consider when making a decision for a charger? I like the price of the GR6437, but it does not balance the cells. I like the HT9253 because it does NiCad, NIMH, and Lithium (does it do LiPo?). Do I really need to balance 3 cell lipos? If so should I buy a charger/balancer combo or purchase them separately? Help! :?

Re: Selecting a lipo charger

You really do need to balance 3 cell lipos. When new, most lipos will stay pretty much balanced, however, as they age, individual cells will change slightly. They will not be balanced at the end of a flight. Any lipo battery, other than a single cell lipo, will need to be balanced charged or charged, then balanced.

There are items like the Astro y that will balance your battery after you charge them. You can find them for around $25. Other people like to use a balance charger. The end product is the same and it is just personal choice.

For what it is worth, my wife and I both fly, so we have about 40 mixed 2, 3, and 4 cell lipos. We use a mix of chargers and balancers and have no real preference.

The last charger I bought, arrived today, was from Hobby-Lobby. The Intelli-Speed charger that is in the "Bargin Hanger" on sale. Nice charger and very easy to use. The instruction manual is in German though :roll:

If you are going to stay in the hobby, you will never be sad that you bought a good charger.

Cliff

Re: Selecting a lipo charger

Another issue with Lipos is that there are 5 different standards for the balance connections for Lipos.
    That being then depending on whose brand you buy they vary on the balance connections.